Skip to content
Tags

I hate my face

September 20, 2011

I hate my face

my ears look

as though

they were borrowed

from Dumbo

the elephant

and never

returned.

 

My cheeks are puffy

and lack visible

bone structure

no matter how much fat

I lose

elsewhere.

 

My eyes are alright

but nobody knows that

because

when I’m not wearing glasses,

I’m usually squinting.

 

there is nothing wrong with

my nose

but nothing right

either.

 

 

my hair

is as boring

as a long lecture

on the physical proberties

of Boron

given

by Ben Stein.

I wish my hair

were anything

other than

what it is.

but don’t we all?

 

I was once told

that my body

was a nine

out of ten

and my face

was a six.

 

How kind of her

the girl who told me,

that is.

she likes

the part of me

which can be easily

improved

but she does not

care

for

the part

which will remain

stagnant

until it decides

to get

uglier.

 

Lucky me.

From → poetry

One Comment
  1. wastelandexplorer permalink

    This made me remember a poem from long ago I heard.

    I know I’m not handsome, I am no movie star
    My face I don’t mind it, for I am behind it,
    it’s the people in front that I jar.

    Good somber poem though.

Leave a Reply

