Skip to content

obsequious hypochondria

September 22, 2011

Some people accuse me of
intelligence
because I use a lot of
big
words
that they don’t
understand.

But the truth is
I usually don’t
understand
these words
either.

And I am much better
at explaining stuff
in short, simple terms.

When I speak with
somebody
with a particularly
extensive
vocabulary
I have to dumb down
my choice of
words
so that
maybe
just maybe
they won’t catch on to
how stupid
I really am.

From → language, poetry

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Decent Stuff « afflictedbyboredom

Leave a Reply

