Skip to content

Barack Obama

September 29, 2011

I was eighteen

when

Barack Obama

was

elected.

 

I voted for

him,

worked for his

campaign,

and very much

believed

in him.

 

And,

big surprise,

he has not accomplished

nearly as much

as he suggested

he would

in his various

campaign speeches.

 

But that doesn’t bother

me

because, as far

as I

can tell,

no president

ever

does.

 

And

the sad truth

is

that the only way

to get

elected

is to

exaggerate

like

crazy

if not

to speak

outright

lies.

 

I read a very

amusing

article

in Time magazine

(a wonderfully

reputable

source, I know)

which suggested

that

a lot of liberals

hold this idealistic belief

that if the president

just

gives a really meaningful speech

everyone will

agree with

him

and

the world

will become

a

better

place.

 

I know that

I

used to

hold this

belief

though I didn’t recognize it

at the time.

 

I guess my point is

that

as far as I can tell

the president’s job

is as much

to be

a

scapegoat

as it is

to be

a leader.

 

And,

while I have been quite properly

disillusioned

of my idealistic

political

beliefs,

I still think

that

Barack Obama

is a

pretty

cool

guy.

3 Comments
  1. I really do like this. The point that you can see something for what is it-as unidealistic as that may be-and not have it ruined for you. To still see the merit, I like that. (Apologies for my pretend words.)

    • No apologies necessary for pretend words. They’re my favorite kind of words. Also, thanks a ton for all the feedback. I somehow managed to lower my traffic yesterday, so it’s nice to know that someone’s still enjoying my bullshit. =]

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Decent Stuff « afflictedbyboredom

Leave a Reply

