Skip to content

An Idea for my First Tattoo (OR: The Venerable Bede is Awesome)

October 1, 2011

I want to get a

tattoo

which reads:

 

“he bindeð his ferðlocan fæste

healdeð his hordcofan

hycgeð swa he wille”

 

This is a

slightly grammatically

altered

excerpt

of

the Anglo Saxon epic poem

The Wanderer

which was written

by

this awesome guy

called

The Venerable Bede

who lived

a-thousand-some-odd

years

ago.

 

It translates

literally

to

 

“one should keep secure his spirit chest

guard his treasure-chamber

think as he wishes”

 

Which

as I understand it

is intended to mean

something like

 

“one should keep his mind in order,

guard his thoughts,

think as he wishes”

 

and

this is

something

that I could really use

on

my body

forever

as a reminder

not

to get

too

crazy.

 

It is also

in my opinion

a beautiful verse

when

written

or spoken

and an excellent

representation

of

real

Old English

(in other words

none of this

“ye olde” crap

people think of

when they think

of

Old English)

 

And

the last thing

I have

to

say

is that

if you found this

poem

by searching for

a line

of that

excerpt

or

the name

The Venerable Bede

you are awesome

and I implore you

to

continue

being

awesome.

 

Because I don’t

do

nearly enough

google searches

for Old English

phrases

or

writers,

and you

clearly

do.

 

3 Comments
  1. Via permalink

    Sir/Woman. I commend you. 😀

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Decent Stuff « afflictedbyboredom

Leave a Reply

