Skip to content

You

November 8, 2011

You smoke too much

pot

and drink too much

and I drink too

and you make me

drink

more

and I don’t smoke

but I know

if we are in

close

proximity

for too long

the habit

will

return.

 

And you don’t like

pets

or kids

or monogamy

or anything I love

in

a girl

 

And you are so perfectly

wrong

for me

that you have

in two days’ time

captivated my affections

in a little

glass

box

and put it away

next to the others

for

safekeepingg.

 

And I hate you.

 

But

mostly

I just

hate

me.

2 Comments
  1. This is simple, but really powerful and beautiful in its honesty. I wonder if you shared it with the subject.

    • The subject turned out not to be quite what I was looking for, sadly. I’ll be publishing a poem called “polyamoury” shortly which will clear that up quite explicitly.

Leave a Reply

